## Institute of Chemistry

Institute of Chemistry was founded in 1959 based on Organic Chemistry and Inorganic Chemistry sectors and the laboratory of Analytical Chemistry of the Moldovan branch of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.

The basis of Institute's scientific directions was laid by well-known scientists, members of the Academy, founders of scientific schools in Moldova: A.V. Ablov (1905-1978) - coordination compounds chemistry school; G. V. Lazurievski (1906-1987) -school of organic and bioorganic chemistry, Iu. S. Lealicov (1909-1976) polarographic school in Moldova, organizer and leader of research in the field of physicochemical methods of analysis.

Later, new scientific schools were founded: quantum chemistry - led by academician I. Bersuker; organic, bioorganic chemistry, chemistry of natural and physiologically active compounds - led by academician P. Vlad; chemistry of coordination, macrocyclic and supramolecular compounds - led by academician N. Garbalau; ecological chemistry - led by academician Gheorghe Duca; bioinorganic chemistry led by academician C. Turta; adsorbent chemistry - led by academician T. Lupascu.

The Institute of Chemistry collaborates with various groups abroad and participates in various international projects. The scientific potential of the institute consists of 123 scientific researchers, including - 3 full members of ASM, 1 corresponding member, 10 habilitated doctors and 40 chemistry PhDs.